Byron Bay Womens Bowling Club Members - September 2015


Our women’s bowling club currently has 26 financial bowling members. New members welcome!

Women’s bowling membership is $80- for the year. If you are a ‘social’ member and wish to upgrade – please speak with Kym in the office at the Club.

Our new committee members for the 2018 FY are: President – Pat Bigg; Vice-Presidents – Robyn Knaus & Jenny Harrap; Secretary – Diana Ricketts; Treasurer – Pam Scarborough; Match/Selection Committee Chairperson – Kym Quinnell; District Delegate – Mary Phelps; Social Committee – Anne Hadwell & Judy Wallace, . Publicity Officer – Kym Quinnell.

Our Gala Day

Tuesday 12th September – was a great success! Thank you to all who came along to play and to help. It is greatly appreciated. Results:- Winners – A Sharp (Pottsville); Runners-up – J Highfield (Cudgen); 1st Round – J Wright (Brunswick Heads); 2nd Round – J Bridges (Pottsville); 1st Secret Margin – M James (Kingscliff); 2nd Secret Margin – J Matthews (South Lismore); Friendship – L Hampton (Bangalow). Thanks also to our sponsors – Southern Cross Credit Union, Blanch’s Bus Service, Club Byron & Byron Bay Property Sales; and also to the local businesses that donated prizes for our raffles.


The 2017 Championships 

The Result of our Club Singles Championship – Open Singles FINAL RESULT                           The Result of our Club Pairs Championship – Pairs Championship RESULT



Congratulations to our new Club Coaches – Pat Bigg, Mirtha Christian, Kym Quinnell & Toby Schott.


Byron Bay Women bowlers recently competed in the Regional finals at Kingscliff after winning the District competition in Division 4. Two days of tough competition were held in brilliant conditions on fast greens at Kingscliff Bowling Club. On day one, skips Pat Bigg and Kym Quinnell led their teams to victory against Maclean and Macksville over 42 ends. Day two saw tough competition against Ballina where Byron Bay needed a win on both rinks to achieve overall success and progress to the State finals. After a tough morning of bowls, Byron Bay went down to Ballina by only 9 points.

All players were very proud of their achievements, especially after there being a ten year gap in Pennants competition. Their first attempt in the competition last year resulted in a Runners Up pennant. They all look forward to continuing their interest in this great sport.

The club is growing in numbers. Coaching is available on Friday afternoons at 4pm. Alternative arrangements can be made for those unable to attend Fridays. Social bowls on Tuesday starts at 9am at Club Byron bowls greens and new players are most welcome to attend.

Pennant flag

2017 Pennant Side

Left to Right: Linda Child, Pam Scarborough, Mirtha Christian, Kym Quinnell, Pat Bigg, Jeanette Beaton, Diana Ricketts, Robyn Knaus.



Congratulations to Judy Wallace; the winner of the 2016 Minor Singles. the draw results is attached – minor-singles-final-results

Gala Day – 12th September 2017

Please make note of the date of our Gala Day. This year we have been given a Tuesday.




Congratulations to our lady bowlers for a job well done it this year’s Pennants.

At the District presentation, held on Monday 6th June 2016, they were presented with a small flag and certificates for coming runners-up in the TBDWBA Division 4 Pennants.

Next year it will be the ‘Winners’ flag!

Presentation photo

L to R: Robyn Armstrong, Pat Bigg, Diana Ricketts, Therese Hillard, Kym Quinnell, Mirtha Christian, Judy Wallace and Robyn Knaus. Inset: Jeanette Beaton and Jenny Harrap.